Hello There, Guest!

10-07-2009, 09:00 AM | Post: #1
Killershotz 
I deleted the Battlefield Heroes files on my computer because I wasn't able to join games anymore.
Now I try to re-download is but now it says ''An error accurred: failed to write registry value: Installation Dir''
What to do to fix this problem?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2009, 09:23 AM | Post: #2
joppieown 
have you administrator rights? you must have that of you pc.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2009, 11:12 AM | Post: #3
Killershotz 
I'm the only user
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2009, 11:34 AM | Post: #4
kakaa 
Same here, deleted it and now i cant install the game anymore. What to do? Dodgy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2009, 02:40 PM | Post: #5
NajroEntu 
can someone plz answer this poor guy?! I have the same problem, and right now I hate my pc!! plz give us a fix so we can play this aswome game!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2009, 04:25 PM | Post: #6
InQontrole 
hey ther ppl, uhm i did get the same problem and i can play now, i dont know if it will work for you aswell but you can always try right..
1. go where you installed battlefield heroes
2. look up a file named : installationData.xml
3. delete it and go to the site and log in and press play now then it should load all those thing for playing...you know the drill.

i hope this will work for you ppl Angel
good luck

and if not look for the same file again if its not ther try to reinstall
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2009, 08:43 AM | Post: #7
Killershotz 
I also fixed my problem.
I downloaded a older version of Battlefield Heroes (torrent)
I placed it in the c:/program files/EA GAMES/
And when i pressed ''play now'' it update itself.

Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2009, 06:35 PM | Post: #8
plumpudding 
I cant find that file you say I should look for so i cant delete it Wink
I tried a different approach, i searched my pc (start-> search Wink) for 'battlefield heroes' and deleted everything my pc found AND IT STILL DOESN'T WORK!! plz someone help me.

and the torrent downloading etc... the torrent description says that you need a beta-key to play ...

grts from a man in desperationTongue
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
18-07-2009, 09:56 PM | Post: #9
andy-da-pandy 
I have Windows Vista and I just deleted all the battlefield Heroes files and now when I want to install it again I cant...
and if i press play now it says: ...Installation dir :/
I would be happy if someone could help me Smile
(This post was last modified: 18-07-2009 09:59 PM by andy-da-pandy.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-07-2009, 05:01 AM | Post: #10
Mebes 
(10-07-2009 09:23 AM)joppieown Wrote:  have you administrator rights? you must have that of you pc.

Killershots are you running Vista?
If you are then Joppieown is correct.
The failed to write registry value error is usually caused by not running the browser as administrator.
You don't have to use "run as" all the time, you only need to do this when the new patches are downloaded.

Right click on IE and choose Run As from the droop down menu.
Then pick administrator.
Go to Battlefield heroes web page and log in then press play now.

Good luck
S

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=ea91760f3cb5d5...4b61bdfbd9]

I was a community moderator, not an official EA representative

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-07-2009, 01:29 PM | Post: #11
Superspiffy 
**** it!

I have done everything i can to try and get this game to play and it wont so balls to it.

If EA actually value their customers (try not to cough up your lungs laughing at that too hard) they would make a game that could be easily picked up and played...
Hang on thats what they have failed to do here.

None of the advice on the forums works, there are no answers on the FAQ's, I AM NOT HAVING FUN!
It is seriously too much effort to play this game!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-07-2009, 02:04 PM | Post: #12
AaronLad 
TO FIX THIS.

START > RUN > type 'regedit' without the ' 's.
When registry editor comes up hit CTRL + F.
Type in the search box 'Battlefield-Heroes' delete anything with 'Battlefield Heroes' in the name.
After that keep pressing F3 to find more results until theres nothing tofo with battlefield heroes left.
Close Regedit and goto http://www.battlefieldheroes.com/playnow
install the game and wolla.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-07-2009, 09:31 AM | Post: #13
SmOkE619 
i did what AaronLad did but it didnt seem to work
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
22-07-2009, 01:45 AM | Post: #14
Mebes 
Try this.
(21-07-2009 02:18 PM)NovaRage Wrote:  my solution waz to combine the two sulotions

1-run as administrator
2-press control+alt+del and close the process with the name bfh_____ dont know the rest
but remember there are 2 process to delete...

Click on the green arrow next to NovaRage's name above to view the thread.

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=ea91760f3cb5d5...4b61bdfbd9]

I was a community moderator, not an official EA representative

(This post was last modified: 22-07-2009 01:45 AM by Mebes.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
22-07-2009, 12:35 PM | Post: #15
jstar2 
ive never even dowlloaded this suff and it wont let me play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!​!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-07-2009, 05:51 PM | Post: #16
JustinisBEAST 
Ok, here is what i did.

Exitted browser. Right click on internet explorer, run as admin, go to BFH, login hit play, and it works.

Vista Home Basic
(This post was last modified: 28-07-2009 05:51 PM by JustinisBEAST.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
22-08-2009, 07:45 PM | Post: #17
NaZeus 
(28-07-2009 05:51 PM)JustinisBEAST Wrote:  Ok, here is what i did.

Exitted browser. Right click on internet explorer, run as admin, go to BFH, login hit play, and it works.

Vista Home Basic

i´m stubid.

A little more accurate location of: run as admin?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
27-08-2009, 02:58 PM | Post: #18
HideYourSouls 
(22-08-2009 07:45 PM)NaZeus Wrote:  
(28-07-2009 05:51 PM)JustinisBEAST Wrote:  Ok, here is what i did.

Exitted browser. Right click on internet explorer, run as admin, go to BFH, login hit play, and it works.

Vista Home Basic

i´m stubid.

A little more accurate location of: run as admin?

Below 'open file' and 'open file location', there's an option: 'run as administrator', with a little shield in front of it. Tho it hasn't worked for me yet.

Edit: YAY, it worked, not with FF, but if I run IE as administrator It downloads!!!
Hooray for me! Tongue
(This post was last modified: 27-08-2009 03:01 PM by HideYourSouls.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
13-11-2009, 06:03 PM | Post: #19
Lennart2608 
(28-07-2009 05:51 PM)JustinisBEAST Wrote:  Ok, here is what i did.

Exitted browser. Right click on internet explorer, run as admin, go to BFH, login hit play, and it works.

Vista Home Basic
MAN I LOVE YOU!
I did what you said and it worked! I'm lucky that I'm not the only one who starts getting angry with such an easy problemAngel. But im really happy I can still play this lovely game!

[Image: 2]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
14-11-2009, 05:25 AM | Post: #20
Shon_T 
Arronlads advice worked for me...I had a registry issue.

The first time I couldn't get it to work....but I hadn't hit F3 and cycled through enough times...and I didn't delete all the files it highlighted...just the files that said battlefield. After running through it the third time, I just deleted every file it identified as being associated, and it seemed to work fine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply




Forum Jump:



X
Add this person to your friends list
Remove this person from your friends list
/en/ajax/checkFriendStatus
/en/ajax/friend