Hallo, Gast!

09-06-2012, 11:42 PM | Beitrag #1
Happyghast 
[Bild: OdKUN.png]

Introduction

Hello, I'm Happyghast. I've been using GIMP for about 3 years now, so I decided to share most of my knowledge in using GIMP. Feel free to ask any questions below or suggest new tutorials.
In this tutorial I am covering more of a style that works with everything, if you want a tutorial that has more BFH related stuff, check out Acetonium's GIMP tutorial.

[Bild: MFjMS.png]

Before you start this tutorial, make sure you have the latest version of GIMP. (2.8) If you do not have GIMP yet, you may download it for free here.
Once you have the latest version of GIMP you may continue with the tutorial.

Here are some useful brushes

that will be used in some parts of this tutorial:

Note that I will update this list eventually as I add more tutorials here.

Here are the brushes that are currently used in this tutorial:

Sumi Strokes Brush Strokes:
http://qbrushes.net/wp-content/plugins/d...trokes.zip
High Quality Brush Strokes:
http://www.deviantart.com/download/12269...ee_doo.rar
Blood Splatters:
http://www.deviantart.com/download/20031...3b9ckp.abr

Note that these are just my favorite brushes, if you have ones that you prefer you may use them. Also note that Photoshop brushes work with GIMP.

[Bild: F59qu.png]

Q: How do I install brushes?
A: 32 & 64 bit OS (GIMP 2.8) Go to '*Your username* -> GIMP 2.8 -> Brushes. Paste any ABR, VBR, or GBR files in there.
Here is a visual tutorial on adding brushes: http://www.battlefieldheroes.com/en/foru...pid5358618

Note that ABR, VBR and GBR files do not need to be extracted. GIMP can use Photoshop brushes also.

Q: Where can I download fonts?
A: http://www.dafont.com/

Q: After I've downloaded fonts from Dafont, how do I install them?
A: Windows XP: Copy the TTF file to C://WINDOWS/Fonts. (This method also works for Vista and 7)

Windows Vista/7: Right click on the TTF file and press install.

Q: How can I add transparency to my signature?